Felony DWI Charges in Syracuse, New York
Rigorous Defense from a Syracuse DWI Attorney
Almost anything other than a first-time DWI charge will be viewed as a felony DWI in New York. With these felony charges come escalated penalties. Not only could you be facing serious prison sentences, heavy fines, and the loss of driving privileges, but you could be faced with the prospect of being branded as a convicted felon. This criminal record is life-altering, potentially forcing numerous doors to close, such as when it comes to job, house, and loan applications.
- An aggravated DWI (A-DWI) can be leveled at a driver whose test results show a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.18 or higher. A first-time aggravated DWI charge could be punishable by: up to one year in prison, at least one year without a driver's license, and $1,000 to $2,000 in fines.
- A second DWI offense within 10 years would be charged as a Class E felony. This could include a sentence of: up to four years in prison, a maximum $5,000 fine, and driver's license suspension for a minimum of one year.
- A third DWI offense would mean that a defendant is looking at the penalties for a Class D felony, which is punishable by: up to 7 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and at least one year of a suspended driver's license. An ignition interlock device might have to be installed as well.
Leandra's Law: the Child Passenger Protection Act
In 2009, an 11-year-old girl named Leandra died in a New York City accident where the driver was charged with a DWI. Legislators soon responded by signing a law that creates more severe penalties for drivers charged with a DWI when a child younger than 16 is in the car. On top of the following penalties, a driver would also have to install an ignition interlock device on their cars for at least six months:
- Even a first-time DWI charge will become a Class E felony if a child is on board and there was no accident. This could entail a 4-year prison sentence and up to $5,000 in fines.
- If a child is injured in an accident, then a DWI conviction could mean 7 years in prison for a Class C violent felony
- If a child dies in the accident, then a DWI conviction could mean 15 years in prison for a Class B violent felony
Contact a Syracuse Criminal Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you need to act now to defend not only your freedom, but your enduring reputation. Start working with an experienced DWI lawyer in Syracuse when you contact The Law Office of Steven C. Buitron. We may be able to start crafting the aggressive defense you deserve when you fill out a
free case evaluation today! Learn how we may be able to reduce your charges or get them completely dismissed.